Making sense of the planets By: Jeannette Glen

Making sense of the planets

By: Jeannette Glen

If you’ve ever read the horoscopes in the paper, you may have thought that they could apply to anyone. This is true in part because the horoscopes in the paper are based only on your sun sign. Most people tend to think that astrology is not a “real” science, but it has been around for thousands of years. If given a fair shot, astrology can be a way to understand yourself.
What exactly is astrology? Astrology is based on how planets affect individuals with their orbits, gravitational pull and alignment. The sun sign is found from the position of the earth and sun at the exact time of your birth. It represents personality. It is found using only your month and day of birth. Signs of equal importance are your rising sign, which represents your overall outward physical appearance and how you come across to the world. On the astrological ecliptic there is a point that is called the eastern horizon. This point is located on the eastern part of the equator. This is how your rising sign is calculated. Astrologers take the sign that was over the eastern horizon at the exact time of your birth. Your moon sign represents your emotions. The moon takes about three days to pass through the entire zodiac in opposition to the sun which takes the greater part of a year. The moon sign is calculated using your full date of birth and it tells which sign the moon was in at the exact time you were born.
The planets are constantly rotating and every time they move, they change the course of our lives. This happens daily. There are 12 zodiac signs starting in mid-March with Aries, then Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. The 12 astrological houses are named 1st, 2nd and so forth. . The houses represent places where we struggle and excel in our everyday lives. An example, the first house represents a person’s personality, their natural demeanor or aura, it’s in charge of any financial matters but this house also signifies greed and possession. Each house is ruled by its corresponding zodiac sign. This house is ruled by Aries. A few houses signify love and these include houses five, three and seven. House five is ruled by Leo, house three is ruled by Gemini and house seven is ruled by Libra. Everyday life struggles or accomplishments would be in the sixth house which also represents your lifestyle and health. This house is also ruled by Virgo. House 12 deals with enemies, coworkers, difficulties in and out of the workplace as well, solitude and secrets and is ruled by Pisces. Money is signified by the second house which is ruled by Taurus.
Astrologists use the following to compute your chart: the sun, the moon, mercury, Venus, Jupiter, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, Mars, Saturn, Chiron, True Node and True Lilith. The planets have significance. Take Mercury, for example. It is considered the planet of communication and it signifies understanding, consciousness, logic, reasoning, thought, creativity and expression. When Mercury is in a specific sign, it means that sign will excel in that area or may even have difficulties in that area while the planet is in the sign if Mercury is in retrograde. When Mercury is in retrograde it’s said that whatever sign or house it passes through will have difficulty in the communication aspects of their lives. When this happens astrologers usually tell those who are affected by the retrograde to hold off on decision making and to not move too hastily on the relationship frontier.
Next Issue- the planets and how they affect us

What Next?

Recent Articles